Wing’s winning ways

  • Published
  • By Senior Airman Kayla Newman
  • 916th Air Refueling Wing Public Affairs
During the April commanders call, the 916th Air Refueling Wing presented annual awards to the following wing personnel:

Airman of the Year: Senior Airman Sonya G. Alexander, 77th Air Refueling Squadron (reserve); Senior Airman Paul Dechane, 911th Air Refueling Squadron (active duty)

NCO of the Year: Staff Sgt. Monica D. Duarte, 916th Force Support Squadron (reserve); Tech. Sgt. Michael S. Long, 911th ARS (active duty)

Senior NCO of the Year: Master Sgt. Carlton B. Harrell, 916th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron (reserve); Master Sgt. Bradley N. Humphrey, 911th ARS (active duty)

Company Grade Officer of the Year: Capt. Samuel L. Murray, 916th Security Forces Squadron (reserve); Capt. Katelynn J. Blasdel, 911th ARS (active duty)

First Sergeant of the Year for the 916th ARW is Senior Master Sgt. William C. Lester, 916th SFS

Junior Civilian of the Year: Johnathan L. Harvey, 916th Logistics Readiness Squadron

Senior Civilian of the Year: George M. Potzgo, 916th FSS

Earlier this year, the annual Kitty Hawk Daedalian Aircrew Award winners for 2016 were presented to the following 916th ARW members:

Active Duty Pilot of the Year: Maj. Philip H. Stephens, 911th ARS

Active Duty Boom Operator of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Justice R. Coker, 911th ARS

Reserve Pilot of the Year: Maj. Amanda Person, 77th ARS

Reserve Boom Operator of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Cody R. Beverly, 77th ARS

In addition, the wing learned that Senior Airman Kathy Estrada, assigned to the 916th ARW command section, had won Air Force Reserve Command Force Support Airman of the Year. To name a few accomplishments, Estrada led the customer support section and in and out-processed over 500 Airmen. She also instructed approximately 700 members through 30 classes of Self-Aid Buddy Care, Green Dot, and Suicide Prevention.

In a team award, the 916th Operations Group Aircrew Flight Equipment won the Outstanding U.S. Air Force Aircrew Flight Equipment Small Program of the Year award. The integrated team consisting of eight active duty, five air reserve technicians, and 14 traditional reservists, supported 37 real-world missions, installed over 1,200 critical aircrew flight equipment items, and ensured timely transport of 132 patients.

While not an award, but still notable, the 916th ARW Inspector General sections received a Type II Nuclear Operational Readiness Inspection by Headquarters Air Mobility Command IG, marking the first wing under AFRC to reach Type II.

Following the inspection, several superior performers were announced. Tech. Sgt. George Potzgo, 916th FSS, and Wade Black, from the wing finance office, were identified as superior performers. The superior teams were the military personnel section, the 916th SFS training section, the 916th MXS maintenance training section, and Time and Attendance. Military Bearing Awards went to Senior Master Sgt. Therese Speas, Tech. Sgt. Daniel Cooper, Staff Sgt. Negleatta Davis, and Staff Sgt. Carlos Irias.

As icing on the cake, it was announced on April 26, that the 916th ARW was one of 18 AFRC organizations to earn the 2015 Air Force Outstanding Unit Award.